Steelers announce All-Time Team

PITTSBURGH — Thirty-three players were named to the Steelers All-Time Team today when the club announced the members as part of the Steelers 75th Season Celebration. The squad includes both former and current Steelers players who make up the official Steelers All-Time Team.

The players will be honored at the team's Nov. 4 Gala event at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center and at the Steelers Nov. 5 Monday Night game against the Baltimore Ravens when the Steelers will wear their throwback uniforms for the second and final time this season. Thirty-three players were selected in recognition of the team being founded in 1933.

"Our All-Time Team represents the best of the many great players who have put on a Steelers uniform," said Steelers President Art Rooney II. "We thank our fans and everyone who took the time to vote on our website for selecting a group of truly special men who represent what it means to be a Pittsburgh Steeler."

Players were selected through a fan vote on the Steelers official website, and through ballots in the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette and at participating PNC Bank locations throughout Pittsburgh. The Steelers All-Time Team includes 15 offensive players, 16 defensive players and two kicking specialists. Among the 33 players are 10 members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame and four players on the Steelers current roster.

"We have had so many great players over the years, including before we won Super Bowls," said Steelers Chairman Dan Rooney. "The accomplishments of each of these players have played a key role in contributing to the long-standing tradition of Steelers football."

In September, the Steelers introduced their Legends Team consisting of the top players who played for the team prior to 1970. Legends Team members were also eligible to be selected to the Steelers All-Time Team.

Make sure to check beginning the week of October 29 for bios on all of the members of the 75th Season All-Time Team.

Following is a list of the members of the Steelers' All-Time Team:


Terry Bradshaw - Quarterback (1970-83)
Jerome Bettis - Running Back (1996-05)
Rocky Bleier - Running Back (1968, 1970-80)
Franco Harris - Running Back (1972-83)
Bennie Cunningham - Tight End (1976-85)
Elbie Nickel - Tight End (1947-57)
John Stallworth - Wide Receiver (1974-87)
Lynn Swann - Wide Receiver (1974-82)
Hines Ward - Wide Receiver (1998-Present)
Larry Brown – Offensive Tackle (1971-84)
Dermontti Dawson – Center (1988-00)
Alan Faneca – Guard (1998-Present)
Tunch Ilkin – Offensive Tackle (1980-92)
Jon Kolb – Offensive Tackle (1969-81)
Mike Webster – Center (1974-88)


Joe Greene – Defensive Tackle (1969-81)
L.C. Greenwood – Defensive End (1969-81)
Casey Hampton – Nose Tackle (2001-Present)
Ernie Stautner – Defensive Tackle (1950-63)
Dwight White – Defensive End (1971-80)
Jack Ham – Outside Linebacker (1971-82)
Jack Lambert – Middle Linebacker (1974-84)
Greg Lloyd – Outside Linebacker (1988-97)
Joey Porter – Outside Linebacker (1999-2006)
Andy Russell – Outside Linebacker (1963, 1966-76)
Mel Blount – Cornerback (1970-83)
Jack Butler – Defensive Back (1951-59)
Carnell Lake – Safety (1989-98)
Troy Polamalu – Safety (2003-Present)
Donnie Shell – Safety (1974-87)
Rod Woodson – Cornerback (1987-96)


Gary Anderson – Kicker (1982-94)
Bobby Walden – Punter (1968-77)

Steel City Insider Top Stories