Roethlisberger voted team MVP

PITTSBURGH — Steelers' quarterback Ben Roethlisberger was recognized for his outstanding play by his teammates who voted him the team's Most Valuable Player.

It was the first time in his six-year career that Roethlisberger has received the honor.

Roethlisberger has had a record-setting season in 2009, becoming the first quarterback in Steelers' history to throw for 4,000 yards in a season. He has completed 319 of 479 passes (66.6 percent) for 4,108 yards, 23 touchdowns, 12 interceptions and a 98.9 passer-rating. Roethlisberger ranks in the top five in the NFL in passing yards/single game (1st – 503), completion percentage (5th) and average gain/pass (2nd – 8.58). Roethlisberger has set several Steelers' passing records for a single season in addition to throwing for 4,000 yards, including the team's single-season record for completions (319), passing yards in a single game (503) and 300-yard passing games in a season (five). He was named AFC Offensive Player of the Week in Week 15 when he completed 29 of 46 passes (63.0 percent) for 503 yards, three touchdowns and a 121.9 passer-rating during a last-second 37-36 win over the Green Bay Packers.

Roethlisberger is the first Steelers' quarterback to win the team most valuable player honors since Kordell Stewart in 2001. This season marks the fifth time since 1969 that a Steelers' quarterback has been voted the team's most valuable player.

Following is the list of Steelers MVPs since 1969:

1969 WR Roy Jefferson

1970 DT Joe Greene

1971 LB Andy Russell

1972 RB Franco Harris

1973 WR Ron Shanklin

1974 S Glen Edwards

1975 CB Mel Blount

1976 LB Jack Lambert

1977 QB Terry Bradshaw

1978 QB Terry Bradshaw

1979 WR John Stallworth

1980 SS Donnie Shell

1981 LB Jack Lambert

1982 CB Dwayne Woodruff

1983 PK Gary Anderson

1984 WR John Stallworth

1985 WR Louis Lipps

1986 LB Bryan Hinkle

1987 LB Mike Merriweather

1988 LB David Little CB Rod Woodson

1989 WR Louis Lipps

1990 CB Rod Woodson

1991 LB Greg Lloyd

1992 RB Barry Foster

1993 CB Rod Woodson

1994 LB Greg Lloyd

1995 QB Neil O'Donnell

1996 RB Jerome Bettis

1997 RB Jerome Bettis

1998 LB Levon Kirkland

1999 LB Levon Kirkland

2000 RB Jerome Bettis

2001 QB Kordell Stewart

2002 WR Hines Ward LB Joey Porter

2003 WR Hines Ward

2004 LB James Farrior

2005 NT Casey Hampton WR Hines Ward

2006 RB Willie Parker

2007 LB James Harrison

2008 LB James Harrison

2009 QB Ben Roethlisberger

Steel City Insider Top Stories