Hall of Fame semifinalists announced

The new semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame reflect a tip of the cap to the Greatest Show on Turf.

Four players from the St. Louis Rams’ Greatest Show on Turf are represented among the eight first-year eligible players for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The four former Rams are part of 26 modern-era semifinalists named this week for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Quarterback Kurt Warner, receivers Isaac Bruce and Torry Holt, along with offensive tackle Orlando Pace were among the 26 semifinalists.

Joining the former Rams as first-year eligible players who are semifinalists for potential 2015 induction are running back Edgerrin James, offensive lineman Kevin Mawae, linebacker Junior Seau and cornerback Ty Law.

The 26 semifinalists made the cutdown from the previously announced 113 nominees. The results of the modern-era reduction vote to 15 finalists will be announced during a one-hour special on NFL Network on Jan. 8 at 9 p.m. ET.

The other NFL greats among the 26 semifinalists:

K Morten Andersen
S Steve Atwater
RB Jerome Bettis
WR/KR Tim Brown
Coach Don Coryell
RB Roger Craig
RB Terrell Davis
Coach Tony Dungy
LB/DE Kevin Greene
DE/LB Charles Haley
WR Marvin Harrison
T Joe Jacoby
Coach Jimmy Johnson
CB Ty Law
FS John Lynch
LB Karl Mecklenberg
G Will Shields

The 26 semifinalists will be reduced to 15 modern-era finalists, along with the two contributors – former general managers Bill Polian and Ron Wolf – and senior finalist Mick Tingelhoff. Polian, Wolf and Tingelhoff will be voted on separately and must receive 80 percent positive vote from the full selection committee during the selection meeting on Jan. 31, 2015.

Scout NFL Network Top Stories