NFL writers name all-rookie team

The Professional Football Writers of America announced its all-rookie team, with Odell Beckham Jr. taking top honors.

The Professional Football Writers of America named its all-rookie team on Tuesday, along with naming New York Giants receiver Odell Beckham Jr. the rookie of the year and offensive rookie of the year.

Beckham Jr. led all NFL rookies with 91 catches for 1,305 yards, with his yardage total 10th overall in the NFL. He also set the Giants’ rookie record for receiving yards. Playing in only 12 games, his 108.8 yards-per-game average was the highest figure by a rookie in NFL history and he was the first rookie to have four consecutive games with 100 yards receiving since 1958 (Jimmy Orr).

St. Louis Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald won defensive rookie of the year award from the PFWA. He led all rookies with nine sacks, setting a Rams rookie record, and led the team with 17 tackles-for-loss.

The Rams led all teams with three all-rookie selections from the PFWA – Donald, cornerback E.J. Gaines and running back Tre Mason.

Teddy Bridgewater of the Minnesota Vikings was named the quarterback on the all-rookie team and Mike Evans of Tampa Bay Buccaneers joined Beckham as the receivers on the all-rookie team. Those three, along with Cincinnati Bengals running back Jeremy Hill and Buffalo Bills receiver Sammy Watkins, are the five candidates for the Associated Press rookie of the year award that will be announced Jan. 31 at the NFL Honors program.


QB – Teddy Bridgewater, Minnesota Vikings
RB – Jeremy Hill, Cincinnati Bengals; Tre Mason, St. Louis Rams
WR – Odell Beckham Jr., New York Giants; Mike Evans, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
TE – Jace Amaro, New York Jets
C – Corey Linsley, Green Bay Packers
G – Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns; Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys
T – Taylor Lewan, Tennessee Titans; Ja'Wuan James, Miami Dolphins

DL – Aaron Donald, St. Louis Rams; Timmy Jernigan, Baltimore Ravens; Kony Ealy, Carolina Panthers; Justin Ellis, Oakland Raiders
LB – Chris Borland, San Francisco 49ers; Khalil Mack, Oakland Raiders; C.J. Mosley, Baltimore Ravens
CB – Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears; E.J. Gaines, St. Louis Rams
S – Deone Bucannon, Arizona Cardinals; Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Green Bay Packers

Special Teams
PK – Cody Parkey, Philadelphia Eagles
P – Pat O'Donnell, Chicago Bears
KR – Jarvis Landry, Miami Dolphins
PR – De'Anthony Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs
ST – Trey Burton, Philadelphia Eagles

The Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) is the official voice of pro football writers, promoting and fighting for access to NFL personnel to best serve the public.

Show your support for your favorite team and stock up on gear by clicking here!

This merchandise is brought to you by Scout Product Review team. We aim to highlight products and services you might find interesting, and if you buy them, we may get a small share of the revenue from the sale.

Scout NFL Network Top Stories