NFL hands out compensatory picks

The NFL announced which teams are receiving the 32 compensatory picks for the 2015 NFL Draft, with three teams receiving the maximum four compensatory picks.

The NFL has awarded its 32 compensatory picks for the 2015 draft, with the Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs and Seattle Seahawks leading the way with four compensatory selections each.

The Baltimore Ravens and Houston Texans were each awarded three compensatory selections at the annual NFL owners meetings.

Compensatory picks are awarded to teams that lost more or better compensatory free agents than they acquired in the previous year of free agency. Compensatory free agents are determined by a formula based on salary, playing time and postseason honors. The formula was developed by the NFL Management Council. Not every free agent lost or signed by a club is covered by this formula.

The maximum a team can receive is four compensatory picks, with the picks ranging from the end of the third round (New England, Kansas City and Cincinnati each received picks there) to the end of the seventh round.

The leaders in number of compensatory picks were awarded them for specific compensatory free-agent losses. The Broncos lost Robert Ayers, Zane Beadles, Eric Decker, Jeremy Mincey, Knowshon Moreno, Shaun Phillips, Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie and Wesley Woodyard in 2014’s free-agent period and gained Emmanuel Sanders, Aqib Talib and T.J. Ward. The Chiefs lost Branden Albert, Jon Asamoah, Quintin Demps, Tyson Jackson, Akeem Jordan^, Kendrick Lewis, Dexter McCluster and Geoff Schwartz and gained only Joe Mays and Vance Walker. The Seahawks lost Brandon Browner, Breno Giacomini, Chris Maragos, Clinton McDonald, Paul McQuistan, Golden Tate, Walter Thurmond and didn’t gain any compensatory free agents last year.

In total, 14 teams were awarded at least one compensatory pick. In addition to the three teams that were awarded the maximum four compensatory picks and two teams that were awarded three, the NFL gave the Carolina Panthers, Cincinnati Bengals, Green Bay Packers, New England Patriots and San Francisco 49ers two compensatory picks each, with the Arizona Cardinals, Indianapolis Colts, Pittsburgh Steelers and St. Louis Rams receiving one each.

Here are the compensatory picks that were awarded, including the round and overall selection number:
333-97 New England
334-98 Kansas City
335-99 Cincinnati
433-132 San Francsico
434-133 Denver
435-134 Seattle
436-135 Cincinnati
437-136 Baltimore
533-169 Carolina
534-170 Seattle
535-171 Baltimore
536-172 Kansas City
537-173 Kansas City
538-174 Houston
539-175 Baltimore
633-208 Denver
634-209 Seattle
635-210 Green Bay
636-211 Houston
637-212 Green Bay
638-213 Carolina
639-214 Seattle
640-215 St. Louis
641-216 Houston
642-217 Kansas City
733-250 Denver
734-251 Denver
735-252 Pittsburgh
736-253 New England
737-254 San Francisco
738-255 Indianapolis
739-256 Arizona

Scout NFL Network Top Stories