USA Today Sports Images

NFL grants 96 underclassmen draft eligibility

The NFL released the names of 96 players granted special eligibility into the 2016 draft with another 11 names that could be added to that list after fulfilling their degree requirements.

The number of early entries into the NFL draft is back near 100.

Last year, 74 players were granted special eligibility, meaning they weren’t seniors but had met the NFL’s three-year eligibility rule (past high school), had submitted their written application for entry into the draft and had thereby renounced their remaining college eligibility. That process was concluded earlier this week.

On Friday, the NFL announced the names of 96 players that were granted special eligibility for the 2016 NFL Draft, conducted April 28-30 in Chicago, and the names of 11 more that have graduated and are also eligible for selection.

The number of underclassmen declaring for the draft has generally been on the rise the last 10 years. In 2007, 40 players were granted special eligibility. In 2011, it was 56 players, then 65 and 73 before reaching an all-time high in 2014, when 98 players were granted special eligibility (a number that could be surpassed this year).

First, the 96 that have completed the process (in alphabetical order):

  Player Pos. College
1 Bralon Addison WR Oregon
2 Dominique Alexander  LB Oklahoma
3 Mackensie Alexander DB Clemson
4 Eli Apple DB Ohio State
5 Demarcus Ayers WR Houston
6 Peyton Barber  RB Auburn
7 Vonn Bell DB Ohio State
8 Caleb Benenoch  T UCLA
9 Andrew Billings  DT Baylor
10 Dariusz Bladek  G Bethune-Cookman
11 Joey Bosa DE Ohio State
12 Tyler Boyd WR Pittsburgh
13 Daniel Braverman WR Western Michigan
14 Beniquez Brown LB Mississippi State
15 Artie Burns DB Miami
16 Kenny Clark DT UCLA
17 Corey Coleman WR Baylor
18 Trenton Coles  DB Duquesne
19 Alex Collins RB Arkansas
20 Maliek Collins  DT Nebraska
21 Jack Conklin T Michigan State
22 Pharoh Cooper WR South Carolina
23 Kamalei Correa DE Boise State
24 Su'a Cravens  LB Southern California
25 Elijah Daniel  DT Murray State
26 Terrell Davis LB British Columbia
27 Kevin Dodd  DE Clemson
28 Thomas Duarte TE UCLA
29 Ezekiel Elliott RB Ohio State
30 Leonard Floyd  LB Georgia
31 Kendall Fuller DB Virginia Tech
32 Will Fuller WR Notre Dame
33 Jared Goff  QB California
34 T.J. Green DB Clemson
35 David Grinnage TE North Carolina State
36 Christian Hackenberg  QB Penn State
37 Vernon Hargreaves DB Florida
38 Jerald Hawkins T Louisiana State
39 Derrick Henry RB Alabama
40 Hunter Henry TE Arkansas
41 Willie Henry  DT Michigan
42 Rashard Higgins WR Colorado State
43 Austin Hooper TE Stanford
44 Jordan Howard RB Indiana
45 Xavien Howard  DB Baylor
46 Germain Ifedi T Texas A&M
47 Myles Jack LB UCLA
48 Cardale Jones  QB Ohio State
49 Cayleb Jones  WR Arizona
50 Chris Jones  DT Mississippi State
51 Jayron Kearse DB Clemson
52 Denver Kirkland  T Arkansas
53 Darius Latham DT Indiana
54 Kenny Lawler WR California
55 Shaq Lawson DE Clemson
56 Darron Lee LB Ohio State
57 Roger Lewis WR Bowling Green
58 Steve Longa  LB Rutgers
59 Paxton Lynch QB Memphis
60 Jalin Marshall WR Ohio State
61 Alex McCalister  DE Florida
62 Brett McMakin LB Northern Iowa
63 Keanu Neal DB Florida
64 Yannick Ngakoue DE Maryland
65 Robert Nkemdiche DT Mississippi
66 Marquez North WR Tennessee
67 Emmanuel Ogbah DE Oklahoma State
68 Paul Perkins RB UCLA
69 Joe Powell DB Globe
70 C.J. Prosise  RB Notre Dame
71 Jalen Ramsey  DB Florida State
72 Alex Redmond G UCLA
73 Hassan Ridgeway DT Texas
74 A'Shawn Robinson DT Alabama
75 Demarcus Robinson WR Florida
76 Rashard Robinson  DB Louisiana State
77 Aldrick Rosas  K Southern Oregon
78 Zack Sanchez  DB Oklahoma
79 Isaac Seumalo G Oregon State
80 Wendell Smallwood  RB West Virginia
81 Jaylon Smith LB Notre Dame
82 Tyrell Smith T Massachusetts
83 Ronnie Stanley  T Notre Dame
84 Kelvin Taylor RB Florida
85 Ron Thompson  DE Syracuse
86 Laquon Treadwell  WR Mississippi
87 Laremy Tunsil T Mississippi
88 Quinn van Gylswyk  K British Columbia
89 Nick Vigil LB Utah State
90 Cleveland Wallace  DB San Jose State
91 Dwayne Washington  RB Washington
92 Stephen Weatherly  LB Vanderbilt
93 De'Runnya Wilson  WR Mississippi State
94 Daryl Worley DB West Virginia
95 Scooby Wright  LB Arizona
96 Avery Young T Auburn

Here are the 11 that have notified that NFL that they have fulfilled their degree requirements:

  Player Pos. College
1 Roberto Aguayo K Florida State
2 Travis Blanks LB Clemson
3 Zac Brooks RB Clemson
4 Eric Enderson  P Delaware
5 Austin Johnson DT Penn State
6 Keith Marshall  RB Georgia
7 Tyvis Powell DB Ohio State
8 Noah Spence  DE Eastern Kentucky
9 Michael Thomas  WR Ohio State
10 Corey Tindal DB Marshall
11 Vincent Valentine  DT Nebraska

The numbers from the last decade 

Year Players Granted Special Eligibility   Year Players Granted Special Eligibility
2016 96   2011 56
2015 74   2010 53
2014 98   2009 46
2013 73   2008 53
2012 65   2007 40

Scout NFL Network Top Stories