Greenway named Vikings Man of the Year

The Vikings named Chad Greenway their Man of the Year for his philanthropy.

Chad Greenway has been selected as the 2014 Vikings Community Man of the Year.

Greenway has been an active member of the team’s community outreach, volunteering with organizations like Memorial Blood Centers, Sanford Health, University of Minnesota Masonic Children’s Hospital, Fuel Up To Play 60, The Salvation Army, Taste of the NFL, United Way and Make-A-Wish Foundation of Minnesota.

In 2009, Greenway and his wife Jenni established the Lead The Way Foundation ( to provide seriously ill and physically challenged children throughout the Twin Cities with daily support and life-changing experiences. Since its inception, the Lead The Way Foundation has raised more than $1.3 million. For the past eight years on Father’s Day, Chad and Jenni have partnered with the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board for the Greenway’s Gridiron Gallop 5K race benefiting Minneapolis youth sports programming.

Earlier this week, Greenway was also named one of eight finalists for the inaugural NFL Sportsmanship Award, which will also be given out during this year’s Super Bowl.

This is the second time Greenway has been selected the Vikings Man of the Year, having previously been named in 2011.

Three of the Man of the Year nominees will be selected as finalists for the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, named for the legendary Bears running back who died in 1999. Finalists will be announced in January 2015. The winner will be announced during the fourth-annual NFL Honors show, a two-hour special on NBC from 9-11 p.m. ET on Jan. 31, aired from the site of Super Bowl XLIX in Arizona.

“TheWalter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award is the only league award that recognizes a player’s off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence,” the NFL said in a release announcing the nominees. “From granting scholarships to forming foundations promoting literacy, to getting kids active, these players represent the best of the NFL’s commitment to philanthropy and community impact.”

Each of the 32 team nominees receive a $1,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to the charity of their choice. In Greenway’s case, that is going to the Lead the Way Foundation. The three finalists will receive an additional $5,000 donation, and the winner will receive an additional $20,000 donation in his name.

The team nominees are as follows:

Arizona Cardinals Calais Campbell
Atlanta Falcons Matt Bryant
Baltimore Ravens Torrey Smith
Buffalo Bills Fred Jackson
Carolina Panthers Thomas Davis
Chicago Bears Jay Cutler
Cincinnati Bengals Vincent Rey
Cleveland Browns Craig Robertson
Dallas Cowboys DeMarco Murray
Denver Broncos Ben Garland
Detroit Lions Stephen Tulloch
Green Bay Packers Aaron Rodgers
Houston Texans Andre Johnson
Indianapolis Colts Pat McAfee
Jacksonville Jaguars Josh Scobee
Kansas City Chiefs Tamba Hali
Miami Dolphins Olivier Vernon
Minnesota Vikings Chad Greenway
New England Patriots Devin McCourty
New Orleans Saints Thomas Morstead
New York Giants Steve Weatherford
New York Jets Muhammad Wilkerson
Oakland Raiders Marcel Reece
Philadelphia Eagles Connor Barwin
Pittsburgh Steelers William Gay
San Diego Chargers Philip Rivers
San Francisco 49ers Anquan Boldin
Seattle Seahawks Russell Wilson
St. Louis Rams Johnny Hekker
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Vincent Jackson
Tennessee Titans Jason McCourty
Washington Redskins Darrel Young

Viking Update Top Stories