Vikings free agency: 8 UFAs, two RFAs

The Vikings have eight players scheduled for unrestricted free agency and two for restricted free agency on the NFLPA's official list of free agents.

After signing Kyle Rudolph and Brandon Fusco to contract extensions last year, the Minnesota Vikings got ahead of the free-agent game.

The team’s trend in recent years has been to attempt to sign valued veterans to extensions before they reach free agency, and that didn’t change last fall. In years past they have signed players like Chad Greenway and Adrian Peterson to extensions before the season began, but with Rudolph and Fusco taken care contractually last fall the Vikings don’t have any high-priority free agents when the market opens in March.

The NFL Players Association released the official list of free agents on Thursday afternoon, with the Vikings checking in with eight unrestricted free agents and two restricted.

Fullback Jerome Felton is officially listed as an unrestricted free agent after opting out of his contract, as he indicated he would, and he is joined by two other Vikings that received starting duties in 2014: middle linebacker Jasper Brinkley and offensive lineman Joe Berger. Also scheduled for unrestricted free agency are offensive lineman Vladimir Ducasse, defensive tackle Tom Johnson, long snapper Cullen Loeffler, quarterback Christian Ponder and defensive end Corey Wootton.

Running back Matt Asiata is a restricted free agent, as is offensive lineman Mike Harris.

Loeffler leads the list in years of NFL service at 11, followed by Berger (10), Felton (7) Brinkley (6), Ducasse and Wootton – both at five – and Ponder and Johnson at four.

Joe Berger
Jasper Brinkley
Vladimir Ducasse
Jerome Felton
Tom Johnson
Cullen Loeffler
Christian Ponder
Corey Wootton

Matt Asiata
Mike Harris

Viking Update Top Stories