Greenway wins Byron ‘Whizzer’ White award

Vikings linebacker Chad Greenway was presented the Byron “Whizzer” White Award by the NFLPA for his service to the community.

Vikings linebacker Chad Greenway was named the winner of the Byron “Whizzer” White Award, the “highest honor” presented by the players union.

The honor was presented during the joint session of active and former NFL players on Wednesday and honors the player who serves his team, community and country in the spirit of Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White – “the late Supreme Court Justice was a scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant – the personification of the ideal to which professional football players aspire,” the NFLPA said in a release.

As part of the award, Greenway’s Lead The Way Foundation will receive a $100,000 donation.

“I can’t tell you what an honor this is. There are so many good guys in this league, and it is such an honor to be part of this group of men,” Greenway said while accepting the award. “This foundation is something that my wife Jenni and I wanted to do as an example for our children, to use this platform of the NFL to do better and do more.”

Founded in 2008, Chad Greenway’s Lead the Way Foundation provides resources and opportunities to chronically and critically ill children and their families. Greenway’s foundation has served families throughout the Twin Cities and in Greenway’s home state of South Dakota for years, raising $1.3 million since its inception.

“I cannot think of a more deserving player to win this award than Chad Greenway,” said Vikings owner/president Mark Wilf. “Since being drafted in 2006, Chad has represented the Vikings with class both on the field and in the community. His commitment to philanthropy embodies what this organization stands for, and we are proud to call him a Viking.”

Greenway was nominated for the award by a vote of his teammates, as is the case with each NFL team. The NFLPA reviewed the submissions, with each applicant awarded $5,000 for his foundation or charity of his choice.

Former Viking Cris Carter won the award in 1999.

Previous Justice Byron R. “Whizzer” White Award Winners
2014: Anquan Boldin, San Francisco 49ers
2013: Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers
2012: Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
2011: Tony Richardson, New York Jets
2010: Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders
2009: Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles
2008: Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons
2007: John Lynch, Denver Broncos
2006: Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans
2005: Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
2004: Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2003: Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles
2002: Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars
2001: Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens
2000: Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals
1999: Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings
1998: Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1997: Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears
1996: Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills
1995: Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs
1994: Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills
1993: Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs
1992: Reggie White, Green Bay Packers
1991: Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons
1990: Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns
1989: Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears
1988: Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs
1987: George Martin, New York Giants
1986: Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins
1985: Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals
1984: Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers
1983: Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns
1982: Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers
1981: Ken Houston, Washington Redskins
1980: Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders
1979: Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys
1978: Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints
1977: Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos
1976: Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals
1975: Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers
1974: Floyd Little, Denver Broncos
1973: Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers
1972: Ray May, Baltimore Colts
1971: Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams
1970: Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears
1969: Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams
1968: Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers
1967: Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers

Viking Update Top Stories