Chicago Tribune

Minnesota Gophers coach P.J. Fleck one of coaches attending draft

New Minnesota Gophers coach P.J. Fleck is one of the college coaches attending the NFL draft, along with 22 prospects.

The Minnesota Vikings will have their usual attendees from the scouting department and front office attending the NFL draft, but they will be joined by a newcomer to Minnesota – Gophers head coach P.J. Fleck. 

Fleck is one of 13 NCAA coaches attending the NFL draft this year because he has a couple prospects from his former Western Michigan club that could be chosen in the first two nights of the draft. The first round of the draft starts at 7 p.m. Central on April 27, with Rounds 2-3 starting at 6 p.m. on April 28 and Rounds 4-7 starting at 11 a.m. Central on April 29.

Western Michigan has one prospect that could be a first-round selection, wide receiver Corey Davis, and another that is projected as a second-round pick, offensive lineman Taylor Moton. The network coverage from the draft (on NFL Network and ESPN/ESPN2) likely would look to interview Fleck during about his thoughts on those players. While the Vikings likely won’t have a chance at Davis because Minnesota doesn’t have a first-round pick, Moton could be on their radar as they look to upgrade their offensive line.

In addition to those two players from Western Michigan, the Broncos also have DE Keion Adam and QB Zach Terrell, each of whom could find an NFL team late in the draft or as free agents signing after the draft.

The draft is being held in Philadelphia this year after spending the last two years in Chicago. The first round has a time limit of 10 minutes per pick, the second round is seven minutes and all picks after that have a five-minute time limit.

In addition to the 13 coaches attending the draft, which include Dabo Swinney, Nick Saban and Urban Meyer, 22 prospects will be attending: S Jamal Adams, DT Jonathan Allen, CB Chibode Awuzie, DE Derek Barnett, T Garett Bolles, CB Gareon Conley, WR Corey Davis, RB Leonard Fournette, CB Adoree Jackson, CB Kevin King, QB DeShone Kizer, CB Marshon Lattimore, DT Malik McDowell, LB Takkarist McKinley, T Ryan Ramczyk, LB Haason Reddick, T Cam Robinson, WR John Ross, DE Solomon Thomas, QB Mitchell Trubisky, QB DeShaun Watson, CB Tra’Davious White.

Viking Update Top Stories