Vikings Send Four To Pro Bowl

The Vikings had four players — Daunte Culpepper, Matt Birk, Randy Moss and Corey Chavous — voted to the Pro Bowl today.

Daunte Culpepper has taken a lot of heat locally this season but nationally is still considered one of the top quarterbacks in the league. That was proven today when the Pro Bowl team was announced and Culpepper was named to the NFC squad. Starters for the Pro Bowl teams will be announced during Wild Card Weekend, Jan. 3-4.

Through 14 games, Culpepper has thrown for 3,022 yards, with a 64.7 completion percentage and a 95.9 passer rating, 21 passing touchdowns and nine interceptions, along with 366 yards and four touchdowns rushing. Culpepper was also a Pro Bowler in 2000.

Culpepper's throwing mate, Randy Moss, was also named to the NFC team, his fifth selection in six years. He wasn't selected in 2001. Moss broke his own team receiving yardage mark in 2003, with 1,465 yards so far, and will break the 100-catch plateau for the second time in his career (he currently has 99).

Center Matt Birk earned his third Pro Bowl selection after making it in 2000 and 2001. Birk has anchored the Vikings' No. 1 rated offense all season and been an integral part in the Vikings' successful running game.

Sixth-year pro Corey Chavous makes it for the first time in his career after his first full season at strong safety. Chavous leads the NFL with eight interceptions and is second on the team with 96 tackles through 14 games.

Viking Update Top Stories