Training Camp Schedule

Training camp is only six weeks away, and the Vikings this week released their practice and scrimmage schedule for their days in Mankato.

Last year, the Vikings' training camp practices were severely limited after the death of Korey Stringer. But this year, with a new head coach and a revamped roster, the Vikings hope to display their new look and create an atmosphere of excitement during their three weeks in Mankato.

It will be fans' first look at all the rookies and all the free agent additions, players like Henri Crockett, Kenny Mixon, Lorenzo Bromell, Corey Chavous, Ronnie Bradford and Derrick Alexander, all of whom could be starting opening day.

The Vikings are planning for a more festive town and camp area than they've ever had at Minnesota State University, Mankato, and a number of days of camp promise to bring more than just a regular practice. The Purple will host Kansas City for four practices on Aug. 2 and 3, and two passing scrimmages are scheduled for the evenings of Aug. 7 and 13.

Below is a look at the full schedule:

2002 Training Camp Schedule

The following is a schedule for the Vikings' 38th consecutive training camp at the campus of Minnesota State University, Mankato. All practices are free and open to the public.
Date Morning Session Afternoon Session

Friday, July 26

Start date for Vikings' training camp. Players report by 6 p.m.

Saturday, July 27

8:45-11:10 a.m. Shorts 4:00-5:45 p.m. Shorts

Sunday, July 28

8:45-11:10 a.m. Shells 3:30-4:30 p.m. Special Teams

Monday, July 29

8:45-11:20 a.m. Pads 4-5:45 p.m. Shells

Tuesday, July 30

8:45-11:20 a.m. Pads 3:30-4:30 p.m. Special Teams

Wednesday, July 31

8:45-11:20 a.m. Pads 4:00-5:45 Shells

Thursday, Aug. 1

9:30-11:30 a.m. Shells 3:30-4:30 p.m. Special Teams

Friday, Aug. 2

10:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m. Pads vs. Kansas City (Mankato) 5:40-8:00 p.m. Pads vs. Kansas City (Mankato)

Saturday, Aug. 3

8:30-11:00 a.m. Shells vs. Kansas City (Mankato) 3:00-5:00 p.m. Pads vs. Kansas City (Mankato)

Sunday, Aug. 4

Players Day Off Players Day Off

Monday, Aug. 5

9:30-11:30 a.m. Pads 3:30-4:30 p.m. Special Teams

Tuesday, Aug. 6

8:45-11:20 a.m. Pads 4:00-5:45 p.m. Special Teams

Wednesday, Aug. 7

10:30-11:30 a.m. Special Teams 6:30-8:00 p.m. Passing Scrimmage (Pads)

Thursday, Aug. 8

10:00-11:00 a.m. Shorts 4:00-5:50 p.m. Shorts

Friday, Aug. 9

10:30-11:15 a.m. Shorts None

Saturday, Aug. 10

First Preseason Game — 7:00 p.m. Vikings vs. Cleveland

Sunday, Aug. 11

Players Day Off Players Day Off

Monday, Aug. 12

10:30 a.m.-12:15 p.m. Pads 3:30-4:30 p.m. Special Teams

Tuesday, Aug. 13

10;30 a.m.-12:20 p.m. Shorts 6:30-8:00 p.m. Passing Scrimmage (Pads)

Wednesday, Aug. 14

10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Shorts Break Camp
Training camp times and dates are always subject to change, but rarely do. Special teams practices are scheduled for shorts on each day noted except Aug. 6, when they are scheduled to be wearing shells.

Viking Update Top Stories