Vikings Cut 21 Players

The Vikings announced one trade and the release of 21 players to get their final roster down to 53 players Saturday.

The Vikings announced their final cuts to reach the 53-man roster limit and it includes a pair of defensive backs and offensive linemen that seemed safe just a year ago.

Gone are linemen Adam Goldberg, traded to the Rams for an undisclosed draft pick in 2007, and Chris Liwienski, who was among the 21 players released. Two safeties -- Willie Offord and Dustin Fox (converted to corneback this year) -- were recent first-day draft picks who didn't fit into the new system, despite the loss of Tank Williams for the season.

Here is the full list of cuts by position:

QUARTERBACK -- Mike McMahon, J.T. O'Sullivan.

RUNNING BACK -- Adimchobe Echemandu, Steven Jackson.

WIDE RECEIVER -- Josh Davis, Ryan Hoag, Chris Jones, Kevin Kasper.

TIGHT END -- Richard Angulo.

OFFENSIVE LINEMEN -- Chris Liwienski, Jason Palermo, Donald Penn.

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN -- DeQuincy Scott, Khreem Smith, Eric Taylor.

LINEBACKER -- Rod Davis, Kyle McKenzie.

DEFENSIVE BACKS -- Tony Beckham, Dustin Fox, Charles Gordon, Willie Offord.

Viking Update Top Stories