Pro Bowl fan voting closes; Vikings dominate

Vikings fans apparently stuffed the ballot boxes this year in voting for the Pro Bowl. The Vikings dominated the voting action, but coaches and players still have to cast their ballots.

The fan voting has been completed for the 2010 Pro Bowl and, despite lagging at a couple of positions, the Vikings dominated the voting.

If the Pro Bowl was determined strictly by fan voting, the Vikings would have 14 players in the starting lineups, including six on offense, five on defense and three on special teams. Here is a breakdown of how the final voting took place.

  • At quarterback, Drew Brees of New Orleans narrowly defeated Brett Favre in the NFC. Brees finished with 1,485,397 votes, while Favre had 1,466,687 votes.

  • Adrian Peterson blew out the competition in the NFC for running backs. A.P. garnered 1,393,688 votes – almost a million votes more than second place Steven Jackson of the Rams (412,389). Chris Johnson of the Tennessee Titans was second overall among running backs with 820,789 votes – more than 570,000 less than Peterson.

  • Naufahu Tahi was the NFC's top fullback vote-getter with 181,954 – a little more than 21,000 votes more than Leonard Weaver of Philadelphia.

  • Sidney Rice finished fourth in the wide receiver balloting with 436,907 votes. Larry Fitzgerald of the Cardinals was the top vote-getter with 888,002 votes. Rice also finished behind DeSean Jackson of the Eagles (556,654) and Miles Austin (454,616).

  • Visanthe Shiancoe finished fifth among tight ends with 242,533 votes. Tony Gonzalez of Atlanta led the voting with 435,957, followed by Jeremy Shockey of the Saints, Vernon Davis of San Francisco and Jason Witten of Dallas.

  • John Sullivan won the voting at center with 361,228 votes – about 34,000 votes more than Jonathan Goodwin of the Saints.

  • At tackle, the Vikings had two of the top three vote-getters. Bryant McKinnie led all tackles with 379,885 votes, followed by Jon Stinchcomb of the Saints (200,153) and Phil Loadholt (195,631). McKinnie had almost 100,000 votes more than any tackle in the league for either conference – Jake Long of Miami was second with 286,482 votes.

  • The Vikings got the top two vote-getters at guard. Steve Hutchinson led all guards with 389,789 votes. Anthony Herrera was second in the NFC and third overall in the league with 263,315 votes.

  • Jared Allen was the top vote-getter at defensive end with 573,328 votes, more than the next two NFC defensive ends combined – Julius Peppers of Carolina and Will Smith of New Orleans.

  • The Williams Wall got more votes than any defensive tackles. Pat Williams led all vote-getters at his position with 359,553, followed closely by Kevin Williams with 355,024.

  • Chad Greenway finished second for outside LBs with 265,440 votes – being outdistanced by DeMarcus Ware of Dallas with 450,908 votes.

  • At free safety, former Viking Darren Sharper had the biggest blowout win of them all. His 479,804 votes was almost five times that of the next-highest vote-getter – Madieu Williams with 82,676.

  • Tyrell Johnson finished third in NFC voting at strong safety with 127,031. With more than 300,000 votes, Adrian Wilson of the Cardinals ran away with it, followed by Roman Harper of the Saints with 182,746.

  • Ryan Longwell led the NFL among kicker votes with 202,890 and Chris Kluwe finished third in the NFC among punters with 129,627 votes.

  • Percy Harvin dominated the kick returner voting with 346,289 votes – almost double that of DeSean Jackson of the Eagles (188,745). Heath Farwell won the NFC voting for special teams player with 166,761 votes and finished less than 2,000 votes behind Joshua Cribbs of Cleveland for the overall vote total for special teamer.

    While the final announcement will come next Tuesday after players and coaches get their chance to the vote, it is clear that the fans have spoken and they like the Vikes.

    John Holler has been writing about the Vikings for more than a decade for Viking Update. Follow Viking Update on Twitter and discuss this topic on our message boards. To become a subscriber to the Viking Update web site or magazine, click here.

  • Viking Update Top Stories