Harvin wins offensive rookie of the year

The Vikings wide receiver showed his versatility in receiving, rushing and returning kicks and earned 41 of the 50 votes cast for Associated Press Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Vikings wide receiver Percy Harvin has won the Associated Press Offensive Rookie of the Year award. Harvin garnered 41 of the 50 votes cast by sportswriters around the country who cover the NFL.

Harvin caught 60 passes for 790 yards and six touchdowns and averaged 27.5 yards on 42 kick returns. He also set a Vikings single-season rushing record among wide receivers with 135 yards.

Harvin joins Adrian Peterson (2007), Randy Moss (1998), Sammy White (1976), Chuck Foreman (1973) and Paul Flatley (1963) as the only other Vikings to win the award.

"It's a great award, I'd be honored to have it," Harvin said Monday before he knew he had won it. "I always said since the beginning of the year to win that award and not win the championship is a failure."

Viking Update Top Stories