Carter, Randle H.O.F. finalists

Vikings greats Cris Carter and John Randle are among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2010. A stellar group that includes first-year eligible players Emmitt Smith, Jerry Rice and Tim Brown was announced as finalists Friday afternoon.

Two former Vikings greats and another who spent the final two seasons of his career with the Vikings are among the 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame – announced Friday afternoon.

Cris Carter and John Randle, both of whom were finalists last year, along with guard Randall McDaniel, are once again among the final 15 players on the ballot. McDaniel was voted in last year, while Randle was one of the last players eliminated from the finalist cut-downs.

Carter played for the Vikings from 1990-2001 and made an indelible mark on the franchise as one of the great wide receivers of all time. Randle was with the Vikings for almost the exact same period of time – an undrafted free agent who played for the Vikes from 1990-2000. Carter came out of retirement in 2002 and played half a season with the Dolphins, while Randle spent his final three seasons with the Seahawks.

Roger Craig, who came to prominence as a dual-threat back with the 49ers, spent his final two seasons as a member of the Vikings.

The other 12 modern-era finalists are Raiders wide receiver Tim Brown, Chargers and Cardinals head coach Don Coryell, Steelers center Dermonti Dawson, Bears defensive end Richard Dent, Redskins guard Russ Grimm, 49ers/Cowboys defensive end Charles Haley, Saints linebacker Rickey Jackson, Seahawks defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy, Bills wide receiver Andre Reed, 49ers wide receiver Jerry Rice, Broncos tight end Shannon Sharpe and Cowboys running back Emmitt Smith. Of the 15 finalists, Brown, Rice and Smith are first-year eligible players.

The two seniors committee nominees that will be enshrined are player/coach Dick LeBeau and Broncos running back Floyd Little.

The 44 members of the Hall of Fame selection committee will meet Feb. 6 (the day before the Super Bowl) to vote on the merits of each player. To gain enshrinement, players must receive 80 percent of the vote for selection. The Class of 2010 will be announced at 5 p.m. EST Feb. 6. The selection process will be carried live on NFL Network.

Viking Update Top Stories