2014-15 NHL awards roundup

Montreal Canadiens goalie Carey Price was the big winner on Wednesday night at the 2015 NHL Awards show in Las Vegas.

Price was honored with the Hart Trophy as the league’s most valuable player, the Vezina Trophy as the best goalie and the Ted Lindsay Award, the most outstanding player as voted by the players. He also shared the William M. Jennings Trophy, given to the goalie on the team that allowed the fewest goals (189), with Corey Crawford of the Chicago Blackhawks.

The 27-year-old became the first goaltender in NHL history to win those four awards. He is the first goalie to win the Hart Trophy since Jose Theodore of the Canadiens in 2001-02 and the first to win the Ted Lindsay Award since Dominik Hasek in 1997-98.

“It hasn't really sunk in yet,” Price told reporters. “I'm just truly grateful just to be here. I don't really know what to say. It's been an amazing experience. This whole season has been just amazing.”

Price went 44-16-6 in 66 games for the Canadiens this season with a 1.96 goals-against average, .933 save percentage and nine shutouts. He led the NHL in wins, goals-against average and save percentage.

Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators was honored as the James Norris Memorial Trophy, given to the NHL’s best defenseman, for the second time in his career. He edged out Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings and P.K. Subban of the Montreal Canadiens for the award.

Florida Panthers defenseman Aaron Ekblad, the No. 1 overall pick in the 2014 Draft, won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the league’s best rookie. He beat out Mark Stone of the Ottawa Senators and Johnny Gaudreau of the Calgary Flames.

Bob Hartley of the Calgary Flames won the Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s top coach. Alain Vigneault of the New York Rangers was second.

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron won his third Frank J. Selke Trophy, which goes to to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. Bergeron edged out Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks for the honor.

Calgary Flames forward Jiri Hudler was honored with the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, which is awarded to the player who demonstrates the best sportsmanship.

Voting totals for the 2015 NHL Awards

2014-15 NHL All-Star Teams

Related content:

Fabbri’s Twitter takeover | NHL salary cap announced; Blues focused on re-signing Tarasenko | Blues will host prospect camp | Armstrong named GM of Team Canada | 2015 NHL Draft order | Teammates react to Jackman news | Report: Jackman won’t be back with Blues | Will Blues pursue Kessel trade? | Report: Blues interested in Anderson | Blues announce preseason schedule | Report: Sobotka will stay to KHL | Blues sign former first-round pick Schmaltz | Blues want to be more reckless | Hitchcock has “unfinished business”

You can follow Nate Latsch on Twitter at @NateLatsch or email him at natelatsch@gmail.com

Blues Illustrated Top Stories