MadFriars' Pitchers of the Month: April

The good news was Tucson's Casey Kelly pitched great in his two starts but hasn't returned to the mound as the team wants to be very careful with a sore elbow. A big reason for the Storm's winning record this month was the solid performances they got from their starters and maybe the best closer in the system.
May 5, 2012

Thompson's bat the difference; Blank spot

Matt Blank made a spot start in a loss. Sean Thompson was the offense in Mobile and got the win because of it. Nick Hundley doubles up but the Storm lose. Eugene commits more errors than they had hits.
August 23, 2006

Scouting Padres Prospect: Dale Thayer

These are the special ones. Players who go undrafted and see continued success in the minors and become legitimate prospects. Dale Thayer has been doing it since he arrived in the Padres farm system and debuted with Fort Wayne in 2003.
March 4, 2006

Padres Prospect Interview: Dale Thayer

Dale Thayer – tabbed as the Mobile Pitcher of the Year by two of us this offseason – has just returned from a winter with the Guasave Algodoneros. He helped his team go to the Mexican Pacific League championship series, where they ultimately fell to Mazatlan. Thayer tied for the league lead with 18 saves while working 28.2 innings in his first winter league season. We caught up with him by phone earlier this week to hear about the experience and get his thoughts on the coming season.
February 6, 2006

Mobile Pitcher of the Year

When the pitcher with the most wins on the club (eight) also has 13 losses, the pickings appear slim. But this club was laden with talent that was submerged by inadequacies in other areas. Need proof? Read on. . .
January 30, 2006

Mobile Prospect of the Year

For those of you that have been following the rotating Player of the Year awards between David, Denis and myself, you've probably come to the realization that both David and I tend to give the award to players that we believe has the most potential to help the Padres in the future, as opposed to Denis who awards it to which player had the best year at each level.
January 29, 2006